WWW2007: CFP
Top of Menu Home CFP Program Committees Key Dates Location Hotel Registration Students Sponsors Media Submission Tutorials Workshops Travel Info Proceedings

Technology for Developing Regions

Here is a one-page printable PDF version of the CFP for this track.

The goal of this track is to promote research that benefits those in developing regions, broadly construed; in essence to make the World Wide Web a little wider. We encourage work from all countries, as long as the target beneficiaries are in resource constrained regions of the world.

We welcome papers that:

  • Cover deployments in developing regions of Information and Communications Technologies (ICTs)
  • Show how the needs of DRs differ from those of the industrialized world.
  • Show novel applications of ICTs for DRs:
  • Health care
  • Commerce/Agriculture
  • E-Government
  • Education
  • Disaster Relief/Management
  • Communications (including voice, e-mail, WWW, etc.)
  • Cover HCI issues for DRs
  • Cover power issues for DRs
  • Cover either personal or shared systems or shared infrastructure.

Papers risk being deemed out of scope if they only speculate on the connection to developing regions. Suggested topics include but are not limited to:

  • Wired or wireless networking
  • Low-cost computers
  • Affordable access devices
  • Delay tolerant or intermittent networking
  • Rural connectivity
  • Power systems
  • Sensor networks
  • HCI for semi-literate users
  • Task-specific devices (such as low-cost ATMs, field-worker PDAs, etc.)
  • Shared data systems
  • Local content generation or localization to a DR

Submissions should describe original, previously unpublished, high quality, innovative work, making significant and preferably not only theoretical, contributions to the available technologies for developing regions.

Paper formatting requirements are provided on the submissions page.

Track Chair: Krithi Ramamritham (IIT Bombay, India)

Deputy Chair: Kentaro Toyama (Microsoft Research, India)

Program Committee:

  • Richard Anderson (University of Washington, USA)
  • Anupam Basu (Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India)
  • Michael Best (Georgia Tech, USA)
  • Eric Brewer (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
  • U.B. Desai (Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India)
  • S. Keshav (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Margaret Martonosi (Princeton University, USA)
  • Wagner Meira Jr. (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil)
  • Tapan Parikh (University of Washington, USA)
  • Jacques Steyn (Monash University, South Africa)
  • Eswaran Subrahmanian (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)