WWW2008 CFP - WWW 2008 Call For Papers: Refereed Papers - Internet Monetization
Skip to main content.

Refereed Papers
| Browsers and User Interfaces | Data Mining | Industrial Practice and Experience |
| Internet Monetization | Mobility | Performance and Scalability | Rich Media | Search |
| Security and Privacy | Semantic / Data Web | Social Networks and Web 2.0 |
| Technology for Developing Regions | Web Engineering | WWW in China | XML and Web Data |
Developers Track | Panels | Posters | Tutorials | Workshops

Internet Monetization

Over the last few years, the Internet has emerged as a major channel for commerce. The track on Internet monetization is a forum for theoretical and applied research tied to monetization of content and services on the Internet. The track will be interdisciplinary in nature. Relevant topics include (but are not limited to):

  • Business-to-business e-commerce
  • Business-to-consumer e-commerce
  • Digital payment systems
  • Economic approaches to spam/fraud control
  • Economics of information/digital goods
  • Economics of online reviews, reputations, and ratings
  • Economics of the Internet
  • Electronic markets
  • Impact of Internet commerce on offline commerce
  • Incentive-centered design and engineering
  • Intellectual property and digital rights management
  • Internet advertising, tools, platforms, networks, auctions and exchanges, automation, audience intelligence, and targeting
  • Internet auctions, markets, and exchanges
  • Machine learning and data mining for e-commerce
  • Monetizing Internet media, user generated content, and user attention
  • Monetizing the mobile Web
  • Monetizing social networks and online communities; Viral marketing
  • Monetizing peer-to-peer, grid, and other open distributed systems
  • Network neutrality and network pricing
  • Relevance of advertisements in Web search and content; Users' commercial behavior and intentions
  • Sponsored search, web search advertising, and search engine marketing
  • Web analytics for commerce

Issues related to mechanism design, game theory, incentive structures, pricing, auctions, revenue models, advertising and monetization aspects tied to the above topics are welcome.

Paper formatting requirements will be provided on the submissions page.

  • Track Co-chairs:
    Kartik Hosanagar (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
    Ying Li (Microsoft AdCenter, USA)
    David Pennock (Yahoo! Research, USA)
  • Program Committee:
    Alan Montgomery (Carnegie Mellon Univ.)
    Amin Saberi (Stanford University)
    Amy Greenwald (Brown University)
    Anindya Ghose (Stern School of Business, New York University)
    Anna Karlin (University of Washington)
    Ben Edelman (Harvard University, Department of Economics)
    Boi Faltings (EPFL)
    Chris Dellarocas (University of Maryland)
    Evangelos Markakis (CWI (Center for Math and Computer Science), Amsterdam)
    Florian Zettelmeyer (UC Berkeley, Haas School of Business)
    Gagan Aggarwal (Google)
    Ganesh Iyer (UC Berkeley, Haas School of Business)
    Guoqing Chen (School of Economics and Management, Tsinghua University)
    Hal Varian (UC Berkeley)
    Han Zhang (Georgia Tech, College of Management)
    Ingemar Cox (University College London)
    Jeff Mackie-Mason (University of Michigan)
    John Chuang (University of California Berkeley)
    Juan Feng (University of Florida)
    Karthik Kannan (Krannert School of Management, Purdue Univ.)
    Makoto Yokoo (Kyushu University)
    Mark Manasse (Microsoft Research)
    Michael Ostrovsky (Stanford University)
    Ming Fan (Univ. Washington Business School)
    Nan Hu (Singapore Management University)
    Narahari Yadati (Indian Institute of Science)
    Nicholas R. Jennings (University of Southampton)
    Nick Economides (NYU, Stern School of Business)
    Nicole Immorlica (Microsoft Research)
    Panagiotis Ipeirotis (New York University, USA)
    Patrick Jordan (University of Michigan)
    Paul Resnick (University of Michigan)
    Peter Fader (The Wharton School)
    Radu Jurca (Ecole Polytechnique Fdrale de Lausanne, EPFL)
    Ramayya Krishnan (Carnegie Mellon, The Heinz School)
    Rica Gonen (Yahoo! Research)
    Sebastien Lahaie (Harvard University)
    Siva Viswanathan (University of Maryland)
    Tim Roughgarden (Stanford University)
    Wenli Wang (Touro University International)
    Xianjun Geng (Univ. Washington Business School)
    Xiaotie Deng (City University of Hong Kong)
    Yiling Chen (Yahoo! Research)
    Yong Tan (washington.edu)

Email contact: info at www2008.org

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional